Nubian goats

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by Deerslayer901, Jan 6, 2015.

1. Deerslayer901

Deerslayer901 Out Of The Brooder

May 15, 2014
    hi, I am very new to goats. I currently have 2 nigerian dwarfs but want to start raising Nubians. I'm looking into breeding and selling. Can someone please tell me some Nubian bloodlines or types. That are worth money and a supply in demand kind of thing. I'm looking for a bloodline that is a bit pricy. Because I know it will pay off.

2. Deerslayer901

Deerslayer901 Out Of The Brooder

May 15, 2014
    Thanks for any help in advance

3. Stacykins

Stacykins Overrun With Chickens

Jan 19, 2011
    Escanaba, MI
    Nubian goats, unlike other breeds, have a special consideration you need to keep in mind. It is a genetic disease called G-6-Sulfase deficiency. It is abbreviated G6S. When a kid is homozygous for the trait, it will be unthrifty, fail to grow well, and eventually die. It is common enough that you really should get kids from parents who are tested to NOT be carriers of the trait. At least 25% of the Nubian population carries the gene, so your odds are pretty good at getting carriers of it if you don't get animals known to be free of the trait.

Tested animals are more expensive. But will save some heartache and kid deaths in the long run.

By the way, if you're looking to make a killing off of selling goats, you should probably consider something else. Breeding animals correctly often doesn't result in much profit at all. The animals you see going for top dollar are not average animals, and their breeders put a lot of time, money, and effort into getting them that way. It also depends on your local market.

4. H Diamond

H Diamond Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 26, 2014
    x 10!!!