Ok...day 18...**Total Loss**

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mangled, Apr 9, 2008.

1. mangled

mangled Chillin' With My Peeps

...and I've pretty much convinced myself these eggs are not going to hatch. [​IMG] There was so much trouble during incubation, I just feel they're definitely duds.
    Only trouble is, they're so dark, EE eggs, that the only thing I can see is a well defined air cell, and the rest of the eggs is solid black.
    So, the humidity is up, it was 63% the last time I checked, and they're out of the "turner."
    So, send happy hatching thoughts our way, but like I said, I REALLY don't think they're going to hatch. [​IMG]

Hey - is there anyone that's tried using a stethoscope on an egg? I'm an old peds nurse and have one of those itty bitty heads that you use on premies and such.

I should dig it out (wherever it may be...) and see if I can hear anything.

Em

Last edited: Apr 10, 2008
  2. Smitty's Farm

Smitty's Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 24, 2007
    St Clair County, Il
    Hey Em,

Have a little faith. I bet they are dark, b/c the embryo has grown so much. It's hard to see in the EE eggs. Hang in there! Since it's only day 18 the show is just beginning.

I'm on day 18 w/ my 2 lonley BO eggs. I've been wondering the same thing about these eggs.

Keep me posted! I'm sending good wishes your way for your hatch! [​IMG]

3. mangled

Thanks - same to you. [​IMG]

I'm down to 3 eggs, all EE. The others were bad. The two darker brown eggs had babies, but I'd say they died around day 11. [​IMG] Another got STINKY.

So, other than looking in the 'bator window every 15 seconds, we're doing OK, right? [​IMG]

Em

4. Smitty's Farm

Smitty's Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 24, 2007
    St Clair County, Il