Older 1202 GQF Bator Temp. Question

spowell

Songster
8 Years
Apr 26, 2011
Rocky Point, NC
Hi, I'm new to the using an incubator. I purchased a 1202 GQF Bator, It's and older cabinet model with 3 turners and a hatch tray in the bottom. I have had a hard time keeping the temp steady, so I called GQF to see if I needed to replace any parts. One of the first questions he asked is where i had the thermometer placed and I told him at egg level. I was told that the thermometer was to be placed at the top in the hole where it reads the temp coming out of the heater. Well, I thought that the eggs are to be at 99.5. If I set the therm at the top where the heat comes out at 99.5 the temp at the top of the eggs is 97.2. Can someone please clarify this for me? I am using two digital thermometers if that makes any difference. Thanks in advance for your reply.

With my GQFs I use 2 thermometers one at the top and one at the bottom. The temps fluctuate between top and bottom. So I run the top a little warm at about 101° on the top shelf or so and the bottom of the bator is 99°. That's what works for me. And I always get over 90% hatches. A lot of people do not like the temp differences but it keeps hatching healthy chicks... I use a GQF separate hatcher and just keep my thermmometers at egg level in it.
48894_img_20110514_163439.jpg

Thank You!!! You have releived my worry. I was scared to death that I had cooked them or was freezing them now.
barnie.gif
This is my first attemp at hatching eggs so im a wreck anyway! Although
celebrate.gif
I just candled some 5day eggs and I see blood vessles!!!
celebrate.gif
I think you have the same bator I have except I'm not lucky enough to have the Acrylic door yet. That's my next purchase. I cannot stand not being able to see whats going on. Thank You again, and for the pics.