Older Chicks Developing Crooked Toe - Help

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by CajunPeeps, Sep 29, 2014.

1. CajunPeeps

CajunPeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 12, 2014
    White Castle, LA
    I have 2 chicks that have developed crooked toe. Neither chick showed any signs of this until they were about 8 weeks old. I am new to chickens so I thought maybe I just missed it with the first one, but now I don't think so. The first one is a blrw rooster. He is now 4 months old. His outer toes on both feet turn outward. It does not seem to bother him. I did not try to fix since I figured I was too late. Today, I noticed my 8 week old buff brahma rooster has toes crooked on both feet. It is his two middle toes and one outer toe. I know for a fact his toes have not been like this. I have had him from a day old. His toes have only been like this a few days. What could be causing this? Is there anything I can do? Back in July, when I first got the chicks, they were on regular starter/grower. 2 weeks after getting them, they developed cocci. After this, I switched them to the medicated starter/grower. I also moved them to a wire brooder(similiar to a rabbit cage). I had read that chicks were less likely to develop cocci. I also give them ACV a week out of the month and nutri drench a week out the month. This brooder is rather large. I have been leaving the chicks in it until about 8-9 weeks old before they move to the coop. Out of 40 chicks, they are the only too that have developed crooked toes. The brahma is also rather large. I was always amazed at how large he was. He is growing like a weed. Are these two birds crooked toes related? Am I doing something wrong? I wanted to breed the brahma so this is upsetting. He is gorgeous. I also noticed today that, he is unsteady on his feet so I think the toes may be making it hard for him to keep his balance since he is so large. He seems healthy otherwise.

2. Roxannemc