One small step for man, one giant leap for chickens

MountainHens

In the Brooder
Jan 15, 2016
Hi all,

I'm new to chickens, and to this forum.

I've recently become the proud parent of four French Faverolles, three hens and a rooster.

As you can see from the pic, we've built a hen house that is elevated about 5ft off the ground, complete with a spiral staircase. Inside the roost there is a perch for them to roost on and nest boxes.

The Hens have mastered the stairs. Usually one goes into the entry but then sits there blocking the others, who then just roost on the top couple of stairs. I've been going every night and putting them all in.

At first I thought the hole was too small so I widened it. No luck. Then I figured it might be a bit dark inside, so I put a little light inside that comes on for an hour at dusk, just before they start taking themselves to bed. Still no luck.

I'm out of ideas and hoping some more experienced parents might have some tips.

Thanks in advance.

Ryan.

Welcome to BYC...and chicken keeping!

Maybe it's too dark in there?
Any windows for light?

Any ventilation?

What is your climate?
Putting your location in your profile can help folks give better answers/suggestions.

Curious why the coop is up so high?

I agree with the others that your coop doesn't have enough ventilation. Another observation looking at your picture... your steps look like roosting bars. Your chickens may think so too.

Thanks for the replies.

The hen house is up high as an added deterrent for pests, predators and because it's based on a traditional design I liked.

On the front side there's one 1.25" hole at the top under the eve, and 3 x 1.25" holes on the back side (which you can't see from this shot) - combined with the entry hole which is about 10" x 12" it seems to provide plenty of ventilation. The hen house is also oriented such that the prevailing breeze cuts across it at 45°so as to create a natural circulation without being too drafty.