Only have 2 drakes - is fighting ok?

novahaiku

Hatching
Oct 6, 2022
Hi there - I'm new to ducks or fowl raising all together and could use some advice re: "normal" or ok behavior. We only have 2 drakes...no other fowl, no females at our home build site (so we don't live there yet but are there daily). I got the second drake 3 weeks ago to keep the first drake company. Everything seemed to be going well until about 4 days ago when I noticed the first/original drake pecking at the second when I fed them. I've been trying to feed them far away from each other but the original drake actively walks over to the other's zone and pushes him around. Drake #2 is beginning to look increasingly beat up - missing chest and tail feathers (no blood yet). Is this normal pecking order behavior and, if so, will it subside once they sort it out (seems clear to me that Drake #1 is in charge)? These two are free-ranging and I don't currently have the bandwidth to build them separate areas and, eventually, when we move in with our dog, they will both need to be in a fenced in area. Thanks!

Hi, and welcome!

Could you give us a bit more information, please? How old are the drakes? Do they have a coop they stay in at night? Could Drake 2 be going through a moult?

Could you give us some pictures of them?