ORDERING FROM HATTCHERIES

Discussion in 'Chicken Breeders & Hatcheries' started by marymac, Jul 21, 2008.

1. marymac

marymac Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 12, 2008
    Northeast Ohio
    Hi.. I'm a newbie, and am planning to make my first order soon. Does any one have any advice they could share with me about any hattchery they would recomend I stay away from? Thanks:)

2. austinhart123

austinhart123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2008
    Los Angeles CA
    ideal has alot of different kinds of breeds, i wouldnt reccomend privett because i was not pleased with their chickens( although they have nice turkeys) wwwidealpoultry.com
    www.mcmurrayhatchery.com are my two favories

Last edited: Jul 21, 2008
  3. Cara

Cara Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2007
    NM
    Privett have always been quite rude in my experience, and never reply to e-mails. Avoid Randall-Burkey like the plague; you have to call them to find out when your order ships, you have to call them to make sure they're shipping you everything you ordered, and after going through this what I received wasn't anything like what I ordered. They weren't great at returning calls either.

4. marymac

marymac Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 12, 2008
    Northeast Ohio
    Thanks for the replies,,,I probably need to do some more homework.[​IMG]

5. Chicken_Lover4567

Chicken_Lover4567 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 22, 2008
    Central Texas
    [​IMG]- Hi! I would recommend Ideal. I have had successful ordering from them, and they ALWAYS reply to my emails. I have heard fairly bad things about Privet, so stay away from that place. Good luck! [​IMG]

6. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

I got mine from ideal. They tell you the ship date and you call the PO to make sure they call you when they get there. Ideal is one of our sponsors too! Haven't tried MM yet though but they get great reviews too.

7. EweSheep

EweSheep Flock Mistress

Jan 12, 2007
    Land of Lincoln