Ordering Stars from Mcmurray?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by J. Jamison, Oct 7, 2008.

1. J. Jamison

J. Jamison Out Of The Brooder

Jun 2, 2008
    NE Arkansas
    Anyone ever ordered red and black stars from mcmurray? I got the black stars in last week and the red stars will be here around the 21st. We want them for the eggs. Do they live up to the hype?! I have heard alot of hype on the RIR too, that they are one of the best egg layers. My local feed store had some of these about a month ago and I bought some of them too. They came from estes hatchery. I have australorps now and they lay every 2-3 days. They lay pretty good, just not consistant. Im kinda new to this chicken stuff so if I just wanted chickens to supply a big family with eggs and maybe sell a few, did I buy the right chicks? Give me your thoughts on what I bought and where they came from if you would. Im excited for these to start laying! Thanks

2. redoak

redoak Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 27, 2008
    Russia, NY
    I didn't order the same breeds but I did order from McMurray back in March. They correctly sexed 25 of 25 chicks and tossed in 2 free roosters. My buff orpingtons started laying eggs between 18 1/2 and 23 1/2 weeks old. I'm getting about 4 1/2 eggs per week per chicken. Last month I got 136 eggs from my 6 hens.

3. pdpatch

pdpatch Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 5, 2008
    Hastings, Nebraska
    We have 12 red star pullets, they started laying at about 20 weeks. They started small and kept getting larger with every day. So far they have not missed a day after a couple of months of laying. They lay large to almost extra large eggs, 1 egg per day for each pullet.

4. miss_jayne

miss_jayne Lady_Jayne

Jun 26, 2008
    Columbiaville, MI
    i have two black and two red stars from McMurray. they are not of laying age yet, but they are already getting redder in the face than the other pullets.