Orpington Breeding Questions

Discussion in 'Exhibition, Genetics, & Breeding to the Standard o' started by micanopy farm, Mar 13, 2017.

1. micanopy farm

micanopy farm New Egg

Mar 12, 2017
    I have several Orpington varieties and I recently started trying to learn more about crossing in order to get certain coloring. I found so much different info that it's a bit overwhelming. I was wondering if I can list the chickens we have, and see if I can make other orpington colors or varieties from crossing them.
    We have;
    Black Orpington
    Lavender Orpington
    White Orpington
    Chocolate Orpington
    Silver laced orpington
    Gold Laced Orpington

We have crossed one of our black orpingoton hens with lavender( Lost our black rooster and put her in with the lavenders so she wasn't alone). The chicks that we hatched from that came out black. From what I understand, That chick is "Split" black and lavender? I am new to the terminology but I want to learn more. Any input would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Lavender is a recessive gene that modifies black when it pairs up. It does not affect other colors, only black. It is not a sex linked gene so both parents will have two copies of genes at that point on the DNA. Since it is recessive if the chicken has one copy of Lavender and one copy of not-Lavender the chicken will show no effects of having the gene, the chicken will look black. If the chicken would normally be solid black but the recessive Lavender gene pairs up, you get a solid Lavender chicken. If the chicken would normally be a red chicken with a black tail, if it pairs up you get a red chicken with a Lavender tail.