Watercrystals

Hatching
Jun 16, 2017
Australia
Apologies in advance for lots of reading, but this situation is rather strange and I'm new to this.

Okay, so long story kind-of short...My mother wants to raise chickens. She set up an incubator etc, and put in about 36 eggs, different breeds (I had no idea she was planning this so don't know where the eggs came from). We waited the 21 days, and one egg pipped. It was a long time, so we did assist a little bit and it was fine for a week but has since died - it's unrelated to this post, I just wanted to be thorough in giving info. It wasn't our fault, but there were measures we could have taken sooner to improve its chances. I loved it dearly (was such an energetic, cuddly little chick), but have since done a TON more research and that brings me here.

It's been about 10 days since the "hatch due date" and none of the other eggs have pipped or otherwise. I think one cheeped, and one moved, but still...No chicks. This is our first time doing this so we're not too surprised, just really disappointed (everyone starts somewhere right? And we learn the more we do it).

What I need help with is what do we do now - should we give up hope or what? I have done the float test, water same temperature as incubator, and most of them seemed viable (all info from this site so thank you everyone). Some even moved a bit. I'd done the candler test before the float one, and made lots of notes. All this was done today, carefully and mindful of temperatures (one egg did slip though and cracked the wrong egg - what should I do?)