overwintering birds?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by kayri, Sep 18, 2007.

1. kayri

kayri Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 6, 2007
    RI
    Hi, this is my first year with chickens and I am a little bit worried about overwintering them. We live in coastal RI and it can drop to 5 degrees F in the winter with strong winds, without a lot of snow. I have 5 girls- 2 buff orpingtons, 1 barred rock, and two standard black chickens that I cannot remember their breeds. They are a little less than 4 months old now. My moveable coop is about 5 ft x3 1/2 ft x 3 1/2 ft tall ft, with several vents across the top that I plan to close up in the winter. It is 1/2 inch boards and I use the deep litter method. They are out all day and I have an 80 ft movable electric fence that kind-of keeps them in one area. They like to fly over the fence to greet me.

Do I need some kind of heat in there for the winter? A light bulb? Do they like to have the light on all night? I know I wouldn't. How do I keep their water from freezing? Can I use one of those things that you put in the microwave that gets warm and keeps warm at night? Will they burn themselves on it? I love my chickens, but I have to say they aren't the smartest. I can move the coop close to the house for the winter and run a long extension cord, but I'm afraid they will peck at heat tape. if I wrap it around the water. Should I wrap heat tape around a plastic waterer? They have a small one for the coop and a larger one I leave out all day.

Any advice would be welcomed. Thanks Kay

2. 2mnypets

2mnypets Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2007
    Galesburg, IL.