Pearl is an Earl?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Andeye, May 28, 2011.

1. Andeye

Andeye Out Of The Brooder

Mar 25, 2011
    Zeeland, Mi
    So I am pretty sure I ended up with a rooster with my purchase of pullets at TSC. But I am not really sure what breed he is either.

[​IMG]

Then I start getting scared this one might be a roo too.

[​IMG]

and I think this girl might be a Black Star, shes the only one I think I have figured out! [​IMG]

[​IMG]

here is a picture of them together. TSC said they were a week old when I bought them, which would put them at 12 weeks. They look huge to me, but then again, I am a noob. HELP!

[​IMG]

the first picture of the roo was taken today, the rest are a bit older ( couple of weeks ago)

2. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

The first one is a red sex link rooster. Shouldn't have been in the pullet bin since they are sexed by color. The red one looks like it may also be a cockerel (the reason I say that are the very shiny wing and saddle feathers I'm seeing that look rooster-y, but can't see that area well enough to be certain), but the black one is a black sex link pullet. How old are they?

3. kasey08

kasey08 Aunt Kasey's Farm

Mar 29, 2010
    Scottsboro, AL
    second one i say hen

4. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    Quote:x2

5. Andeye

Andeye Out Of The Brooder

Mar 25, 2011
    Zeeland, Mi
    I bought them on March 12 and they were in the pullet bins and said 1 week old. That would make them like 12 weeks, but I just bought 2 pullets from a lady that hatched them that are 14 weeks and they are a ton smaller than my 3 I started with.

The shiny feathers on the red one had me suspicious as well [​IMG] Lord knows I'm not buying from TSC again. ugh

Last edited: May 28, 2011
  6. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture