pecking order how long dose it last?

bucky1198

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jun 21, 2011
colorado
my 3.5 week old chicks had been always flying into the big girls/guys area so after many failed attempts to stop them I made it so the chicks could go in and out of the big area with a small opening back into there area so they could hide it has been about a week and I have one roo thats daily mission is to pick on the little ones all the others 13 in all have already lost interest in setting up the pecking oder but this one roo runs around chasing and pecking the chicks all day. How long will this last? I have aleast 2 other roos and I haven't figured out which one is top roster yet but I don't see them pecking at each other and at night they sleep next to each other on the roast. The ones that i think are roos might not be tho. I'm new to chickens so learning as I go. The older ones are about 13 to 15 weeks old. Thanks

I'm not sure that is pecking order. There are three different types of agression I can think of. One is the pecking order. That is the one that really goes on forever, but once it is set, things are pretty peaceful. What I mean by that, as they mature, they will jostle for better positions in the pecking order. But your young ones are at the bottom of the pecking order and will not be doing any challenging for a few months. You'll probably see some stuff as they get close to maturity. Until then, they will run away.