Pig Roast info needed

Discussion in 'Egg, Chicken, & Other Favorite Recipes' started by annabananaandfamily, May 25, 2011.

1. annabananaandfamily

annabananaandfamily Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2011
    Maine
    Hi All!
    I am planning on trying a pig roast for my husbands birthday. I have never done this before and anxious to try! Anybody have agood recipe? Instructions? Advice?

2. arabianequine

arabianequine Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2010
    If you do a search under my user name in random ramblings. I had started some threads on the subject. I will try and see if I can find my thread.

[​IMG]

Last edited: May 25, 2011
  3. KatyTheChickenLady

KatyTheChickenLady Bird of A Different Feather

Dec 20, 2008
    Boise, Idaho
    are you putting it in a pit or on a spit . . . or on a grill?

4. annabananaandfamily

May 6, 2011
    Maine
    The Plan is to put it on a grill. I have a 5x3 grill to use... I'm nervous cause I have NEVER done it and the guest list keeps growing!

5. arabianequine

arabianequine Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2010
  6. bigmike&nan

bigmike&nan Chillin' With My Peeps

A winemaker friend of mine from the old days would have a pig roast on his birthday in August every year. He'd buy wild boar's already dressed and dig a pit and cook it covered in the pit. Every guest would bring one dish and one bottle of wine, coordinated with the hostess. There would be about 50 people, so 50 dishes and 50 bottles of wine - many of the guys he knew were fellow winemakers in the Santa Cruz Mountains area and the stuff they would bring along out of their cellars was amazing. I wish I had the recipe to share with you because it was always really very good. You'll surely have a good time doing this, best of luck.

7. KatyTheChickenLady

KatyTheChickenLady Bird of A Different Feather

Dec 20, 2008
    Boise, Idaho