Planning for first ducks

kunsangsean

Chirping
Feb 4, 2023
Hey duck folks! We're looking into getting a troop of ducks for bug control in our backyard orchard and garden and I'm trying to answer some questions before we move forward to make sure it'll all work out ok.

Breed. I'm leaning towards all drakes since we're not concerned about eggs but are concerned about neighbor complaints on noise. We can have up to 6 per city ordinance. Looking at runners and welsh harlequins. I've heard that muscovies are quiet, but also can fly which complicates things. My wife wants hens because they are cute, especially the welsh harlequins. And I agree, but I'm concerned that if the noise is an issue we'll have to eat the hens and I don't think that will go over well. Any experience on whether it's best to have all one breed or ok to mix? I've had some past experience with hen chickens where the smaller breed got beat up pretty good by the bigger breed.

Bugs. Two of our biggest bug problems are earwigs and squash bugs. People talk a lot about ducks for controlling slugs and snails, which in our semi-desert climate in Idaho we don't have issues with. Anyone have experience with runner ducks eating bugs like earwigs? I like ducks more, but if chickens would be better for these bugs that could be worth doing.