Please help! 2 week old chick has impacted crop! **UPDATE**

KatieV

In the Brooder
10 Years
May 2, 2009
I'm new to chickens and just got my first set of chicks two weeks ago! My Light Brahma, Sibbe, has an impacted crop and I'm trying to make it go down. Her crop is not hard, but staying full and she has no energy, won't sit/lay down, and just stands there.
sad.png
It feels like it is chick starter in there and I can move it around like a sand bag. Here are my questions:

How much olive oil should I be giving her? How often?
While massaging her crop, should I be trying to make it go anyplace? Like, up/down? How long should I spend doing this today?
Can I give her water with a dropper as well?
Anything else I can do?

I've been putting apple cider vineager in the chicks water for about a week
I've seen her poop, very little amounts, in the last 24 hours. Poop is gooey/watery, white. No blood.
They eat medicated chick starter, have not had any treats recently.
I did take them outside yesterday for the first time, but only for about 8-10 mins. I noticed something a little off before going outside.
How long do I have? She's my favorite.

***UPDATE***
Sibbe died a few min. ago. ??? I am stunned that she could go from being fine to dead in 24hours. It seemed like she was starting to have some of the stuff in her crop come up and choked and died.
hit.gif
I am so sad and feel like there is something more I should have been able to do. My 7 chicks (now 6) are just two weeks and I did notice Sibbe was half the size of all the rest. So maybe a failure to thrive and impaction?

Last edited:
I have a hen that has impacted crop the size of a softball. You should do a search and type in impacted crop in the Emergencies/Illnesses section and there are literally tons of information. That is what I did and I got all the answers to my questions.