Poodle retrieves egg!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MsMcClucky, Oct 22, 2014.

1. Mitzi is a good dog.

4 vote(s)
    57.1%
  2. The hen should not be laying her egg there.

5 vote(s)
    71.4%
  3. There are probably other eggs you don't know about.

3 vote(s)
    42.9%
  4. Dogs can't be trusted.

5 vote(s)
    71.4%
  5. I have a dog that does something similar.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. That's perfectly fine to continue.

1 vote(s)
    14.3%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. MsMcClucky

MsMcClucky Just Hatched

Oct 7, 2014
    Bedford, IN
    Hi All,
    I am new to chickens since May.
    I have been having a blast: the Silkies, the Guineas, the Cochins, and how they all relate to each other, us and our little dogs.
    So far only one cochin has laid any eggs. She chooses to jump the fence into the shed and lay them under the workbench.
    We can't get to the eggs...but Mitzi can!! She is so proud of her "job." Check her out!

[​IMG]

2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC. Glad you decided to join our flock. I think your poll voters are getting this correct. Mitzi is a good dog (as far as dogs go), but dogs (99.99 % of the time anyway), can't be trusted. We get sob stories from new members who are shocked when their dog (sometimes even little ones like Chihuahuas) suddenly and unexpectedly decide to chase and kill their chickens, and once a dog starts doing this, it's almost impossible to break it. I also think it would be a good idea to train your hen to lay in the nest boxes. You can put some fake eggs in the nest boxes and lock the hens up for a week in the coop so that it will imprint on them as home. And very likely, there are eggs in other places that you don't know about. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck with your flock.

3. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013