poop boards - whats the best and cleanest way to make and keep up with

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by scheelgrl, Dec 21, 2011.

1. scheelgrl

scheelgrl Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2011
    elkview, wv
    I am very new tochickens and chicken keeping and was wondering what was the best way to keep under the roost clean? Ive seen samd boxes, linoleum an.d wood used, just wondering what the best was? Thanks!

2. captainroo2

captainroo2 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 6, 2011
    I am very new to the game also, but we installed a 12" wide removable 'poop' board below the roosts, and we cover it with newspaper. Then twice a week we take th soiled paper off and rerplace with clean paper; we use newspaper because it goes straight to the compost heap along with the poop. this has worked well for us. We had to install large spring clips to the front of the newspaper to keep the flying hens from blowing them off. Hope this helps. [​IMG]

3. scooter147

scooter147 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2008
    Missouri
    I use those blue tarps you can buy at the big hardware box stores. I like it because it's easy to remove, take outside, spray with a bleach solution, hose off and let it dry in the sun.

4. goldtopper

goldtopper Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2010
    Near Bert Blyleven
    I rotate out boot trays and some of the zillions of bin lids my wife hoards....uh, I mean collects. All are about 14" x 24", made of plastic and clean up nicely. They sit on a shelf 8" below the roost board.

5. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    I don't think there really is a "best" method. It all depends on your personal preferences. Personally, I like to use plastic boot trays and take them over to the composter to dump them out every morning. I give the trays a quick hose off (except when we get freezing weather), then replace them in the coop.