practicality/issues extra birds hatched related to..

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by tiki244, Sep 15, 2011.

1. tiki244

tiki244 Flock Mistress

Jan 1, 2008
    WestCentralWisconsin
    I have been reading the psychology of hoarding thread with great interest, and a question came to me. In the spring, a lot of people are buying eggs to hatch. And hatching many many eggs. And also, a lot of new people are getting into chickens, as it has become more popular in the last few years. I am a relative newbie myself.

I am now thinning my flock for winter and also for the practical reason that I feel I would be better able to take care of a smaller number of chickens. And that the chickens would be better off too. But, I find it very difficult to kill roosters and am having a hard time finding suitable homes for some of my chickens. I do not want them to go to a 'bad'(for lack of better word) home and suffer. I have killed some of the roosters, but others are 'special' to me and I can't seem to kill them. One in particular is just too big for my hens. Each time I kill a rooster it is very difficult, and I feel sad and yet hardenned inside a bit more. Which is uncomfortable to me. I think it is more humane to kill them at home in a relatively 'peaceful' setting then to ship them off to the butcher and have them be scared.

So, anyway I am struggling with these issues myself of decreasing my flock. I believe I have a handle on it now, but could have been border line over my head. And am wondering if other people have insight into this.? How many people do you think have gotten over their heads with chickens and don't know what to do? What happens to all these unwanted chickens? What about the people that can't seem to kill their extra roosters? And the issue of tossing eggs that you find under an unwanted broody hen who has hidden in a really good spot?