Predator prevention tips

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Ole and Lena, Aug 3, 2011.

1. Ole and Lena

Ole and Lena Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2011
    Wright Co Minnesota
    I'm still in the learning stage chicken wise but I have a lot of experience trapping and hunting predators so I'd like to share a few things I've learned that will deter predators from getting inside your coops and runs. All are still in the trial phase with our chickens but so far, so good.

A few behavioral traits first. Possums, Raccoons, Skunks, Mink, owls and felines are most active at night. Weasels, Fox and coyotes are most active within an hour of dawn and dusk but are easily conditioned to your schedule. Hawks and Falcons are most active during the day and will not hunt at night. They prefer open areas with the exception of a few northern species that prey on grouse. All mammal predators are territorial, you can use this to your advantage using urine or musk type lures for trapping. Foxes and Coyotes are often unwilling to enter confined spaces. Foxes, mink, felines and coyotes are ambush predators. They will tend to hang out in brushy areas nearby and wait for prey to come close before attacking. Skunks, possums, raccoons are omniverous and target chickens as the opportunity presents. Removing clutter, dogfood, birdseed and trash will deter them hanging around. Keeping a dog on the property, preferably a male one will deter canine predators.