Proximity to vegetable garden?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by harpchick, Mar 17, 2009.

1. harpchick

harpchick New Egg

Mar 17, 2009
    Utah
    Is there a rule of thumb about how close I can place a coop to my vegetable garden? It's going to be a small coop -- 4'x8' housing maybe 6 chickens who will free range during the day.

I'm a total novice at this. Space-wise, there is a good spot that is about 10-15 ft. away. It's slightly uphill on a gradual slope, so rain would wash down towards the garden. It just occurred to me that this might be a problem for food contanimation. Will the chickens eat all my produce?

2. doodledoo

doodledoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 29, 2008
    Cartersville, GA
    We tried a garden last year with the chickens to only end up with some happy hens. I would say that if YOU want to reap any of the benefits of the garden then you need to fence it in or keep the chickens up. Once they find it (and they will) they will visit it every day and as soon as something begins to ripen, if it even makes it that far, it will be eaten.

3. lisahaschickens

lisahaschickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2009
    Vancouver, WA
    chickens can definitely devastate a whole veggie garden. That said, the manure and runoff would be great fertilizer, so don't worry about contamination. Just worry about the chickens' eating all your seedlings, fruits, and veggies! You'll need to cover it with bird netting or fence it in - probably with a roof too. But, that's cool because it'll keep out the other buggers too - squirrels, rabbits, other birds, etc.

4. harpchick

harpchick New Egg

Mar 17, 2009
    Utah
    Oh dear. It's starting to sound easier to keep the chickens contained. The garden is 16'x40'.

Last edited: Mar 17, 2009
  5. rooster0209

rooster0209 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2008
    North Dakota