Quail crowing collar

WhatsMyNameAgain

In the Brooder
Apr 16, 2020
Hello,
I am pretty new to quail. I've heard some folks have had good results with chicken roosters by putting a no-crow collar on the rooster. My male quail are crowing a LOT. I live in the city and I need them to be relatively quiet - like the female quail. Today I got some wire velcro ties sort of like these: wire ties

The birds didn't exactly like it, but since I've put them on, I haven't heard a single crow.
Any thoughts ... will this work long term?

How many quail do you have, males and females?

Are you keeping them to eat the eggs or to hatch the eggs?

How many males do you have and are they housed together or housed with females?

If housed with females what's the ratio of males to females?

How many quail do you have, males and females?
we have 23: 11male, 12 female

Are you keeping them to eat the eggs or to hatch the eggs?
for meat and eggs. In time, I want to scale up to a lot more females for eggs and less for breeding.

How many males do you have and are they housed together or housed with females?
If housed with females what's the ratio of males to females?
I'm using these cages:
https://hatchingtime.com/collections/quail-cages/products/quail-cage-4-layer

and for the cages with male/female combos, I have it 3:1. I intend to increase it, but again, I only have so many quail right now.

For the rest, the males are housed alone in each of the individual cells.
Some of the worst crowing males are housed with females. "Crow Crow Crow Crow" ... my wife counted 4 crows in the time she was pouring one bowl of cereal. It is a LOT.

I will eat some of the males, but I want to wait a little bit so that when all my females are laying I can be sure to have a male who is capable of doing the job. ;)

For what it's worth, the velcro has worked ... they aren't crowing, but I dont' know how they'll fare over time with them.