quail pips

Cornychick

Songster
10 Years
Nov 12, 2009
Sebastian County, AR
This is my first time hatching coturnix eggs. Last night I had several pips by 6pm. This morning there are more pips but none zipping yet. Do they take as long as chickens to start zipping?

My recent first hatch took over 24 hours to begin zipping.
Once they started, though, it only took them half an hour to be out of the eggs and flailing around the incubator.
Good luck with your hatch!
-Zay

I hatched my first baby three days ago.
I used old eggs, so only one out of 7 hatched.
The baby opened up the shell all around like a pro, and very fast, but then must have gotten tired because he/she didn't emerge for many hours. I finally helped him/her out and I'm glad I did because the membrane was so dry that the baby was practically plaster of paris dipped.
So my advice to you is to keep an eye out and make sure that nobody is getting stuck, and if your incubator has the ability to increase the humidity, do so!

Weirdest thing is that one of the other eggs looked to be pipping, but after a couple of days with no further action, I opened it up to find a runny yolk.

Quote:
That is weird. I candled all of them right before I put them in lockdown. I have kept the humidity up the whole time. In fact it was in the mid 70's when I left the house this morning. I hope I did everything right up till now!
fl.gif

I had the runny yolk thing too and dried out membrains on dead chicks.
Its normal to loose some and candling is never 100 percent accurate with quail eggs as they are so thick and dark.