1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

quails eggs

Discussion in 'Quail' started by louisebailes, Aug 20, 2011.

1. louisebailes

louisebailes Out Of The Brooder

Aug 11, 2011
    hello, i am very new to quails, i adore them i can see them from my kitchen and i find myself just stopping washing the pots and watching them, however they just lay there eggs all over. is this common practise for them, and what can i do?? thanks x[​IMG]

2. animal8

animal8 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2011
    Oxford
    Quote:From what I've read about quail, this seems to be the normal, especially if you keep Japanese/Coturnix quail. I've heard some people saying that some other breeds (I think it was Bobwhite?) make a nest and lay them in there, but I've not had any experience myself with those breeds. Certainly the quail at my college don't seem to care about where they lay them, apart from one which seems to always choose the same spot under an upturned plastic dog bed. Some people who keep their birds on wire having a slightly sloping floor so that the eggs either collect at the front of the cage, or roll into a specially placed tray, but I have not used this before (the college quail are kept at the bottom of an aviary, so it's just a case of going in there and rooting around looking for them [​IMG])

3. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    If they have no special area to lay their eggs, they will just drop them wherever, but any bird will do so if they don't have a 'nest'. My coturnix often lay their eggs in their dusting pans but most often they lay their eggs in the enclosed portion of their pen....probably because they feel 'safe' in there. [​IMG]