Question about adding eggs

Jessicx

Chirping
Aug 12, 2017
Central Texas
I have two Bantam Easter Eggers that have just started laying. I am VERY new to this, so I have questions regarding how to incubate new eggs as I add them. My girls are laying roughly every other day, on opposite days. This means I'm adding at least one egg to the incubator every day. Currently, I have 12 at various stages of development. I'm wondering specifically about lockdown.... I just bought a second incubator that will be used for this purpose. My plan is to transfer eggs as they hit lockdown stage into this incubator. Is this okay? I've read that any movement or change in temp and humidity can kill a chick in lockdown.... But will they be ok if I open the lid just long enough to add a new egg? The only other thing I can think to do is keep the eggs in a cool place until I collect enough to start incubating all at once.... But this worries me too as only 1 of the 6 I did this with before has survived. Any advice?

I have two Bantam Easter Eggers that have just started laying. I am VERY new to this, so I have questions regarding how to incubate new eggs as I add them. My girls are laying roughly every other day, on opposite days. This means I'm adding at least one egg to the incubator every day. Currently, I have 12 at various stages of development. I'm wondering specifically about lockdown.... I just bought a second incubator that will be used for this purpose. My plan is to transfer eggs as they hit lockdown stage into this incubator. Is this okay? I've read that any movement or change in temp and humidity can kill a chick in lockdown.... But will they be ok if I open the lid just long enough to add a new egg? The only other thing I can think to do is keep the eggs in a cool place until I collect enough to start incubating all at once.... But this worries me too as only 1 of the 6 I did this with before has survived. Any advice?