1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Question: new to ducks : Ducks panting

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ferretmommie, Apr 29, 2010.

1. ferretmommie

ferretmommie Out Of The Brooder

Mar 16, 2010
    ohio
    ok I am very new to ducks about 6 weeks into them and they are all 6 weeks old except for 1 a khackie campbell that is 1 yr old .
    Ok so I have 5 mallards and 2 pekins and the Pekins are sitting out there panting and nobody else is it is only about 62 degrees outside right now can they actually be this hot they have a pool and fresh water to drink .... is this how they release heat like a dog would they are 6 weeks old

2. WriterofWords

WriterofWords Has Fainting Chickens

Dec 25, 2007
    Chaparral, New Mexico
    I don't know, but I'll try and bump you up so a ducky person can try and answer!

3. newchickmom09

newchickmom09 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2009
    ARIZONA
    I would put them right next to the water and see if they drink. When they pant that usualy means they need a drink. Either from being hot or eating there food and needing water to wash it down.

4. suburbanduckmom

suburbanduckmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2009
    Belmont, CA
    I'll second the drinking thing with Pekins. I have one that does that. She also does it when she gets upset about being held.

Someone with more experience than me may say different though.

5. maralynn28

maralynn28 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2010
    Corpus Christi, TX