Question on feeding yogurt

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by brahmamamamak, May 14, 2010.

1. brahmamamamak

brahmamamamak Out Of The Brooder

Apr 30, 2010
    I have a question about feeding yogurt to chicks. I make my own yogurt from fresh jersey milk, unpasteurized. Can I feed that to my chicks, who are now a bit over 2 weeks old, or do I need to buy the pasteurized version [​IMG] from the store. Also should the yogurt be served from the fridge or about room temp as to not get them chilled. Thank you for any input!

2. Andi

Andi Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm no expert, but I'd be a little gun shy to feed them yogurt at such a young age. Maybe someone more knowledgable will chime in.

Seeing they are little, I agree with your gut instinct to not chill them with cold food. Older chicks would handle it fine, but yours are still pretty little.

Enjoy those babies!

3. Pet Duck Boy

Pet Duck Boy Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2009
    Orlando, FL
    Yogurt is supposed to be a great treat for chicks! Like you said keep it at room temp for a little, mix in some of their food to make it easier to eat. And serve! Mine always loved it since they were a week old.

4. nelgkel

nelgkel Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2010
    FL
    my chicks love yogurt, but I don't know about unpasturized...If it was what I ate, I would give it to my chicks...

5. NeeleysAVLChicks

NeeleysAVLChicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2009
    Leicester, NC
    I think they're going to love it! (I know I would!!!! [​IMG]) I have a farmer friend that has been keeping chickens for decades and she feeds her chicks raw goat's milk and she swears by it and I believe her, her flock is always super healthy. I agree about the room temp business, good thought.

6. Chickenmaven

Chickenmaven Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 6, 2009
    Michigan
    Chickens scratch around in their own poop. I cannot imagine the harm in fresh, artisan, hand crafted yogurt. I'd choose the yogurt! [​IMG]