Questions about my baby chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mmwinget, May 28, 2010.

1. mmwinget

mmwinget Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2010
    Hi everyone! I have several questions regarding my baby chicks. First of all, I had a sick one that the others pecked. It was weak, only has one open eye and no interest in the food/water. It's about 1 1/2 old now and I think I have it back to health. It's running around, eating, etc. I seperated it last week from the other 3 chicks because they were pecking it. I really want/ need them to live together-- Does anyone have any tips for reintroducing the chick to the bunch? Any tips for making them get along? What should expect?

Also- I am new at chicks, so please bear with me. [​IMG] How long should I keep them in their brooder with the light, etc? When can they released outside into their chicken coop and home/play area?

Lastly, any signs so that I will no if I have a rooster in the bunch?? I would love it know early on. I want these chicks to lay eggs for my family to eat, any things I should/should not do to make for better eggs?

I am loving having the chickens and learning so much from this forum! Thanks everyone!

Blessings! [​IMG]

2. Andi

Andi Chillin' With My Peeps

First off, welcome! I'm glad you found us!

Once the picked on one looks good and healthy you should be able to just put it back in with the others. At night time might be a bit less stressful, or when you refill the feeders so there's a distraction.