1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Quick hello from Australia

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Azira, Feb 6, 2016.

1. Azira

Azira New Egg

Feb 6, 2016
    Hi all,

Just a quick introduction. I've been lurking for a while but decided to actually register and post today!

I'm pretty new to chickens, incubating and hatching some in October last year. They are still pretty young so yet to lay. I'm looking to keep for eggs and start breeding for meat, and hopefully along the way breed some quality birds too. But the all important factor to that is starting with the best stock I can. I'll get there eventually though I'm sure.

Anyway, that's all for now, a big thank you and hello, I've got a lot to read and learn!

2. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] so glad you have joined us.

Sounds like you are on your way to accomplishing your goals.

If you haven't explored the site , there are great articles in the Learning Center to help with the care and management of our flocks.

Enjoy the forums.

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Welcome to Backyard chickens, so glad you joined the flock [​IMG] I think the best place for you to post is "Australia, six states and one funny little island." BYC has a large Aussie community participating on various threads here. You would probably find the best breeds suited for your climate in your local area. Hope you will update once you get started.

4. Azira

Azira New Egg

Feb 6, 2016
    Thanks for the welcome and the heads up about the Australian section, I hadn't seen that yet (but there is a lot to get through, lol).