Quick question regarding 1 1/2 week old chicks

buggylady

Hatching
8 Years
Oct 15, 2011
Hi there,

I'm basically new to raising chickens. I haven't had any since jr high (about 30 yrs ago) lol. Anyway, A week ago last friday, we purchased chicks from a local hatchery and brought them home. I now have 40 - 8 day old broilers, 5 - 8 day old Blk jersey giants, 3 - 11 day old guineas, 3 - 2wk old ducks, 10 - 11 day old silver laced & gold laced wyondotts(sp).

Anyway there are 60 chick's total.

Hubby made a new hutch, its 4ft x 7 1/2ft x 2ft tall. 1/2" of it is completely enclosed with plywood with a small opening to what I call their "play pen" its made from chicken wire. The whole hutch sits off the ground and its currently sitting in our basement. (walkout) The chicks are under a 125watt heat lamp. Our basement is not heated and it does get Cold down there.

I am cleaning out their hutch at least 1x per day, but am really starting to smell them. And boy oh boy are they starting to Po alot lol not to mention eat.

I am wondering if it would be okay to take them from the basement down to the barn and put another heat lamp on them?

They have a good wind block within the hutch and it does stay warm.

Any opinions or questions are welcomed:)

We brood out in the barn in colder temps. A brooder that has a ceiling, a top, or a hood helps to hold the heat in. Using a couple of heat lamps, of varying wattages, allows you to better match their needs. Higher temps using higher watts for cold nights, and lower watts for warmer days. Having a large brooder also allows the chicks to do what they do best, self-regulate. They'll move toward the heat circle if they need it and away from the heat circle if they don't.

Wow! Bless your heart - I thought I had alot of chicks - I have 8 three day olds
smile.png