Rain and chickens

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by digger455, Sep 22, 2010.

1. digger455

digger455 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 25, 2010
    I'm here in southern minnesota and this is my first year with chickens. We got 3" of rain today and it sounds like maybe 2" to 3" again tomorrow. My question is what to do just open the coop door and let them out if they want or keep in all day? I had to lock them in about 2 today so was thinking that all night and tomorrow to was and awful long time. I have 11 hens and two roosters. Been getting 10 to 11 eggs a day. Will this horse up there laying? Oh they are 5 months old now I got them April 5th this year. I have wood chips on the floor so they will get wet I think if I leave door open.

Thanks for any help,

Digger

2. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens

I just leave their door open and let them come and go as they want. Unless it's a very windy, nasty storm they actually seem to enjoy the rain. When they get tired of it they come in and preen and dry out. On one coop I had we added a little roof over the door, like a porch, to keep the rain out.

3. BunnyMomma

BunnyMomma Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 17, 2010
    Olin, North Carolina
    It sounds like 2-3 inches is a lot! I usually leave mine in on a nasty day like that. One or two days inside won't hurt until the rain dries up.
    Bunny:bun

4. digger455

digger455 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 25, 2010
    It sure is allot of rain, don't ever remember a storm like this for a while. I have deep puddles every where. Boy it sure does not take long to get a answer on here.

No Harley riding tomorrow,
    Thanks

5. Yazzo

Yazzo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 23, 2010