Raising my own chickens!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by kelschicks, Aug 20, 2014.

1. kelschicks

kelschicks Out Of The Brooder

Aug 20, 2014
    Evan city
    Hello! I am new to byc and I am excited because I am
    New to raising chickens of my own and have many
    Questions. My boyfriend and I started a small coop at his
    Home with a baby Plymouth Rock rooster we raised it
    Then later on purchased a 8 month old hen for it, all is well
    In that coop! I loved raising chickens so I purchased my own
    For my own coop at my home. I purchased a barred rock Cochin a year
    Old with it's new baby chick and a couple month old rooster.
    My boyfriend purchased the roosters sister I should say and took it to his coop.

Here is my question, it is my second day with the chickens and as I knew would
    Happen the mother is so protective of her baby and mean to me and the rooster.
    The first night went fine they all slept in there pen together and were out all day together.
    Almost at dust the rooster started acting odd, non stop chirping very loud like a cry.
    He seemed scared, wanting me to hold him and climbing all on me to get me to be by him.
    I went to put all the birds away and the momma bird was attacking and pecking the rooster,
    It refused to go in. I was so scared because I then figured the poor thing is scared to be near the momma hen. So I temporary put a separate crate for the rooster and the mom and chick in the coop house. I'm now nervous they will never get use to eachother even though they came from the same place, I feel like my poor rooster is trapped and lonely!is this normal? What should I do?

2. phalenbeck

phalenbeck Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 14, 2008
    Canton, N.C.