really necessary to separate brooding hens?

chickiebaby

Songster
12 Years
Jan 2, 2008
western mass
I am going to let a couple of my broodies hatch out some special eggs a fellow BYC-er is shipping my way. Question: Is it really necessary to separate the brooding hens from the others?

Can't they all, as Rodney King once said, just get along? Or will cannibalism ensue?

This is my first time letting the girls hatch out the eggs. I'm a nervous mom, okay? I live in town; don't have a big barn or fancy breeding program, and all my birds are together. I separate wounded birds, but have never had to keep anyone separate for more than a few days.

Ideas? Advice? Thanks, all!

Well.. I'm only 4 days in with my broody on eggs.. and I'll tell ya.. I'm beginning to think I'll have to seperate her. Everyone keeps jumping in her nest and literally laying ONTOP of her! Eggs.. yes, laying eggs! Silly chickens!
I was in there earlier checking the eggs, makign sure she didn't have any extras, cuz they keep laying in there and she just takes in the new eggs. and I found a BUFF ORPINGTON!! No seriously! I was expecting an extra egg or two but found a chicken!

So funny! Anyway.. they won't leave her alone, no one is being mean or anything but they just won't stop laying in the box. OH.. not to mention I found a SECOND broody hen in the box WITH her this morning sitting on some OTHER eggs! I gave her the boot promptly, told her there is only room for one broody hen in this house.

So.. I dunno.. maybe so. If she makes it to two weeks on these eggs I will definitely seperate her, and at this point it looks like I'll have to do it sooner if I even expect her to MAKE IT to two weeks!

There are some good reasons to separate broodies. Other hens will lay in the nest with the broody, so you have to remove the new eggs every day. This stresses the broody, which is not good. She's under enough stress already.