REALLY NEED HELP FOR THIS ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!18 died

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by 1st timer, Feb 28, 2008.

1. 1st timer

1st timer New Egg

Feb 7, 2008
    Kansas
    Ok this is my first time ever to raise chickens. I decided I would give it a try and see how it went. I talked to alot of people and they told me what a great experience it is. So I went for it. I ordered 31 chickens and they arrived on Monday morning from Murray McMurray. When I opend the box 2 were dead. I figured that must be normal. Well when I brought them home I put them in a 3 foot tall 3 foot wide round stock tank. Did the putting the beaks in water and etc. Then we got to the heating situation. I wanted to use 1 heat lamp and that was it. 45-60 in the day and 20-30at night. Figured it would be sufficient. Well I had a friend that raised chickens for years keep insisting that i put another heat lamp in there as well as a 75 watt bulb. So then there was 2 heat lamps and a regular bulb. The bedding was compressed wood flakes. I had a water feeder and a chicken feed feeder in there too. They seemed to have plenty of room for 29 birds. Ok so now I'm thinking I might actually be able to do this. That night they do alright. The next morning there is 1 dead one. Looked like he got smothered. So all day they do alright again with the same lights on them. That night they do alright as well. So by now it is Wednesday morning. I go to work. It gets to 55 degrees by one. The lights are on them still. Well I get a call at about 4 saying that 18 of my 29 chickens died. This is were I am confused. If it was the lights why did they nght die the first day. Was it me of them? I am getting more today but I want to know what I did wrong before I get them so I don't do it again. Were they too hot? HELP! Oh ya there were in a 10 by 20 foot metal building as well. It kept them from the elements pretty well.

Last edited: Feb 28, 2008
  2. SeaChick

SeaChick Chillin' With My Peeps