Roo? How to socialize?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by PorterinCT, Jul 12, 2010.

1. PorterinCT

PorterinCT Out Of The Brooder

Jun 11, 2010
    NorthEastern, CT
    I am totally new to this chicken thing... in terms of birds, I've had parrots before so I am aware of the importance of asserting dominace do you don't get an agressive bird. We also have guinea fowl, but, well, there really is NO socializing them - we feed them and they free range and do their thing...

Anywho...

I ordered 7 hens from My Pet Chicken and they arrived three and a 1/2 weeks ago. 3 Easter Eggers, 3 Speckled Sussex and 1 White Cochin. This past week I noticed one of the SS acting differently or more 'bossy' than all the other 'girls'. It was perching on the top perch, and when the cats would go into the club house (really an old milking shed) to investigate the chick brooder, this SS would stand tall and sort of act like she was protecting everyone else. (They are in a large dog kennel with cardboard around the bottom to prevent drafts). 'She' is also the first to check out new treats and will even hope on my arm to eat berries before anyone else.

I've noticed that 'her' comb is much larger and reder than everyone else's AND this bird hasn't grown chest feathers like everyone else has. In fact, the feather's 'she' has grown, are much different looking than everyone else's. I googled SS and learned that the boys feather later than the girls.

SO, with the comb, feathers, AND behavior I think "Mary the SS" is really "Mark, the ROO!"

I don't want a mean adult rooster. I didn't really want a rooster AT ALL, my husband REALLY did (he LOVES the noise, and apparently, the guineas aren't enough for him). Is there anything I can do to make sure this little Roo understands we are at the top of the pecking order? Anything I can do to make him friendlier and less likely to gore me one morning while collecting eggs?