Rooster attacking chicks

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by cjdkj, Nov 6, 2014.

1. cjdkj

cjdkj New Egg

Nov 6, 2014
    Oklahoma
    Hi everyone!

This isn't my first time with chickens, but it is my first time dealing with an age difference.

I happen to inherit a very docile rooster who is a bit over a year old. He's so nice that my kids can just walk up and pick him up. I really think he's confused as he acts like a dog honestly. Needless to say, I went chicken crazy and bought chicks who are about 2 months old now. Mr. rooster free ranges and I want the chicks to free range too. In the last couple of weeks we have moved the chicks outside, and they are loving it. They are in a run, but twice now one of the chicks will sneak past me while I'm cleaning out their hotel and the rooster attacks. I just got done chasing him all over the yard as he chased and ripped the feathers off of one of my chicks. It was a violent aggressive grab them by the neck and try to kill attack. Luckily the chick seems to be fine...scared but fine.

Will he get over attacking them as they get older? I really want them to get along so they can all free range.

Thanks in advance for any tips and info on how to deal with his attacking!

2. mrs buff laced

mrs buff laced Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 11, 2013
    Riza 4
    Well a rooster can be great to protect hens.... not so much chicks. Unless they are his own chicks he will attack them thinking that he must take out the competition's offspring even though there is no other competition. Sometimes roosters will even attack there own chicks.... roosters can be crazy sometimes. Now when you want your chicks to free range put Mr.Rooster up in a pen or somewhere where he can't be in contact with the chicks. When the chicks are done you can put Mr. Rooster back out. Now when the chicks get big enough to look like hens you can put them all together and he will protect them. Hope this helps!

[​IMG][​IMG]

3. cjdkj

cjdkj New Egg