Rooster behavior???

sniper338

Songster
9 Years
Dec 15, 2013
San Antonio, Texas
I have a black copper marans roo about 4 months old... he has no other hens, just alone in the coop.. i put in a few pullets the other day just to see what he would do... they are too young for me to feel comfortable yet to leave them...

But he would fluff up and drum his feet real fast and spin in a circle... like he was excited and liked them is what i got out of it.. then they would eat together a bit, then he would do it again...

I dont think ot is aggression at all, but im no expert... id like to get the pullets out of the brooder soon and throw them in with him, just makes me nervous because of the size difference...

Whats this fluffed up drumming his feet dance? I couldnt tell but he coulda been dropping a wing jigging, but it was in circles... not around the hen... ill have to do it again just to start them interacting...

Hi, it's not aggression, just excitement at having some girls around him. Until the pullets are sexually receptive to him, he should not try to mate with them and he, in theory is not sexually mature yet. I don't know how old the pullets are, but I would imagine at they should all be fine together, but keep an eye on them for a while to reassure yourself that all is well.

Ct

Hi, it's not aggression, just excitement at having some girls around him. Until the pullets are sexually receptive to him, he should not try to mate with them and he, in theory is not sexually mature yet. I don't know how old the pullets are, but I would imagine at they should all be fine together, but keep an eye on them for a while to reassure yourself that all is well.

They are small... still just over 2 months old... just got all their feathers in...
Ct

They should be fine. My roo was fine with my mixed age flock. He's more likely to look after them and call them when he has food, rather than trying to mate or harm them.

Ct

Sounds like he will be fine...