Rooster Collar Problem

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by StruttinRoo, Sep 3, 2014.

1. StruttinRoo

StruttinRoo New Egg

Sep 3, 2014
    Hello, just joined and I'm new to the whole chicken thing. Got my tiny flock by accident really. But I've fallen in love with them after having to raise them from chicks. The only problem is I live in town and my favorite chick turned out to be a rooster. A Seabright? I think. So it's four girls and one roo doing what roos do best...which is crow ALOT. So far, there hasn't been any complaints but I'm concerned enough to give the "rooster collar" a try. I made my own from velcro after looking at what other people have done, and I've also seen the warnings from people who've actually killed the rooster with the collar. Mine live in an enclosure I built from dog cages since we're right by a busy road so I wasn't too worried about him getting caught on anything in the yard. But, in order for it to work, the collar seems to need to be at the base of the neck and very tight to affect my rooster at all. Anywhere else and he's like "LOL COCKADOODLEDOO SUCKAH". So I found that "sweet spot" and thought, FINALLY, VICTORY! I stayed out there with him, watching him, making sure he didn't keel over or freak out too bad because he absolutely hates wearing it at first. Once settled he goes back to his normal behaviors. That is till he eats. When he eats, the food gets stuck above the collar and builds up, creating a bulge that he can't swallow. Is this a common problem with the collars? I have to keep taking it off so he can eat properly and now I just go out there and put it on when he's carrying on too much. Just can't leave it on him for long however. Before anyone suggests getting rid of him, I've thought about it yes. Personally I don't mind his crowing at all it's the neighbors I'm concerned about. He's a good boy, takes care of his girls and I've raised the little booger from a baby. I'll do whatever I can to keep him as long