Rooster singing lessons?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by FriesianGroupie#1, Aug 25, 2010.

1. FriesianGroupie#1

FriesianGroupie#1 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 17, 2010
    Bethune
    hey guys!!!
    Forewarning, I am VERY VERY new to chickens, the four i have are the first ones ive ever seen or touched! That said:
    I have two roosters, about 13 weeks old, have been crowing(or should i say attempting lol) when they turned 10 weeks old. They sing alot and i love it, but the crowing isnt the typical 'cocka doodle doo' i was expecting to hear from all those childhood animal sound books! Oreo, his crow is like 'cock-a roo', syllables very distinct and chopped up, and Hershey crows like 'cocka roooo' very sing-songy and drawn out. does a rooster crow really sound like i learned in school? or is each roo different and i just have defective but cute ones? I try to crow 'properly' when im out there when they crow, trying to teach them to add the 'doodle' in there!! Am I hopeless? I know i must look quite silly 'cock a doodle doo'ing at my roosters! Or will they learn and im not patient enough?

Thanks!!
    Shereena [​IMG]

2. mmaddie's mom

mmaddie's mom Chillin' With My Peeps

My first roos crowed like a pheasant because that is what they heard while they were still very young... so some training is possible WHILE they are still very young. I have had 3-noters, 4-noters and, yes, the traditional 5 noter (cock-a-do-dle-do!)... most common being the 4 noter. Not sure at this point that you can change their songs. I can tell me boys apart by their distinct and different crow... I enjoy that.

ps: Love when they are just learning... they are sooo funny and pathetic! [​IMG]

3. FriesianGroupie#1

FriesianGroupie#1 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 17, 2010
    Bethune
    thanks for the reply!!
    Im glad that my boys are defective, just special! hahaha