Roosting bars height?

Cmerchant

Chirping
May 11, 2021
Hi everyone, so newbie here ? I readjusted my bars bc hubs made them waist high for them to jump to get up..& I got concerned w them falling trying to get up there..so I made 2 smaller ones about 4' long..I use 2x3's attached to 2x4 sides! ? Is I just acquired a new roo..so he decided to roost on top of nesting box? When I asked him what he was doing I swear he looked out the window..& chatted, as if to mutter keeping an eye out🤣 anyhow, should I make the other roosts higher? If so how high is too high? I have about 7ft floor-ceiling in the roost

Welcome to BYC.

The roosts need to be higher than the nest boxes. Chickens will want to sleep in the highest place available.

If you have heavier birds who can't fly up to the roost or if your coop is small so that they don't have room to fly you can build a ramp up to the roost or make a roost ladder so that they can hop from bar to bar.

The way I determine height is to first decide where the coop floor is, including all bedding. Sometimes people forget that bedding can add height. Then install the nests. These can be on the coop floor or up high enough so you don't have to bend over to collect the eggs. Then I position the roosts higher than the nests. They often like to sleep on the highest place available so I want the roosts higher than anything I don't want them sleeping in or on, like the nests.

I want the roosts as low as reasonably possible. The higher the roosts the more clear room on the coop floor they need to land when they fly down. In winter I want any ventilation to be over their heads so any breezes go above them, don't hit them. At night when they are on the roosts is a good time to catch them to treat them or inspect them. With mine that wound up being 5' off the coop floor.

I got concerned w them falling trying to get up there.