Runt of our group getting beat up, bleeding leg now

armyfan

In the Brooder
Dec 18, 2018
New to the group, and owning hens. So hello! We have had them for 9 months in New York. 6 hens, 3 cinnamon queens, 2 brahmas, 1 black star. It seemed until about 2 weeks ago they were fine with each other. The black star started to exhibit head wounds/bare skin in small patches and when I would let them out of coop for their daily run around time, would witness her getting pecked on the head by our bully. This morning she was bleeding from her leg. Not gushing all over the place, but noticeable. As a rookie, I don’t know if this is general horseplay and somewhat routine, or something to be concerned about. We certainly don’t want to lose any of our ladies, and are worried about infections/diseases. Thanks for your time, and I apologize if this has been covered many times before.

New to the group, and owning hens. So hello! We have had them for 9 months in New York. 6 hens, 3 cinnamon queens, 2 brahmas, 1 black star. It seemed until about 2 weeks ago they were fine with each other. The black star started to exhibit head wounds/bare skin in small patches and when I would let them out of coop for their daily run around time, would witness her getting pecked on the head by our bully. This morning she was bleeding from her leg. Not gushing all over the place, but noticeable. As a rookie, I don’t know if this is general horseplay and somewhat routine, or something to be concerned about. We certainly don’t want to lose any of our ladies, and are worried about infections/diseases. Thanks for your time, and I apologize if this has been covered many times before.