Salutations! Hello! Hi!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by SonoranChick, Sep 20, 2014.

1. SonoranChick

SonoranChick Crowing

Aug 31, 2014
    Southern AZ
    Hi everybody! I am fairly new to raising chickens, and this is my first post. After stalking backyard chickens for months, I decided it was time to just give in and join :) I am the proud owner of two true black Ameraucanas, and three mutts (leghorn dad, RIR mom). No one is laying (yet!) but I am excited to see what happens. My Ameraucanas are 24 weeks old today, and my easter eggers are 15 weeks. And in case you're still reading...I live in the southern Arizona desert and found two diamondback rattlesnakes in my coop this morning! :sick Hubby shot them both, we sealed all holes...everyone is ok! It is a daily adventure. Perhaps the snakes would explain my lack of eggs?

2. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    Colorado
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! Please make yourself at home and we are here to help.

Yes snakes are very good at sneaking eggs. I would bet that is why you haven't gotten eggs.

Sounds like you have a lovely flock. Good luck with them.

3. SonoranChick

SonoranChick Crowing

Aug 31, 2014
    Southern AZ
    Thank you for the response! I had a feeling. I thought maybe I had some late layers ( which I suppose is normal with Ameraucanas). But after seeing the little egg shaped lumps I the snake...I think you're right. Sneaky, scheming snakes! :barnie

4. Cynthia12

Cynthia12 Always Grateful Premium Member

Apr 11, 2010
    Utah
    [​IMG]
    That leghorn/RIR mix is going to be a super duper layer!

5. SonoranChick

SonoranChick Crowing

Aug 31, 2014
    Southern AZ
    I'm hoping :yesss:

6. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture