Same Birds + New Coop =Third World War

Crazypigchick

In the Brooder
Nov 12, 2015
Bowersville, Ohio
Newbie here out of desperation. Spent gobs of time and money on a giant new coop. Moved everyone in yesterday, tickled to death, and the birds have lost their fool minds. I feel completely ignorant when I thought I was on top of my game.

No new birds, and everyone's been together since day one, literally. My gentle giant, a BuffOrp roo, is beating everyone up. Submissive birds won't eat, even though there's dang near a week's worth of food in there in efforts to reduce problems.

It is vicious and vile in there, and I'm embarrassed to say I'm a little nervous being in with them.

Did I do something wrong? Normal? Timeframe to peace? Intervene? How? Amount of Advil I should immediately ingest?

Thanks in advance.

Can you separate the aggressive ones until the others have gotten more comfortable and confident in the new coop? They may just be figuring things out and settle down quickly. Maybe set up different feeding stations scattered around so they can avoid the bossy ones but get something to eat.

Also welcome to BYC!

Thanks. :) Frankly, I think I've jumped the gun; just back from checking on them, and they seem to be relaxing a bit. My shock factor was the big walking Prosac of a rooster turning nasty towards his girls. Not sure what that's all about?

As far as separating aggressive ones, I could, but wouldn't that present the same issue when I reintroduce? The current turds were charmers yesterday. Confusing. I only have one semi-aggressive hen that I keep an eye on, and she's just going about her business, avoiding the drama. Doubly shocking.

I have two waterers and food in five places, not including several big, whole pumpkins and squash laying around. I thought I'd covered all my bases to the point of overkill. *Follow the rules, birds!* Maybe I just had big expectations of this being a smooth transition if I over-prepared.

Everything's topsy turvy.