1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Scale mites holistic treatment

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Chicken Staff, Feb 11, 2012.

1. Chicken Staff

Chicken Staff Out Of The Brooder

Oct 4, 2011
    Hi, I'm fairly new to raising chickens, so I will apologize in advance if there is an obvious answer to my question. I have a flock of 4 girls who free range in my somewhat small suburban backyard. I recently noticed that one of the ladies feet are dry and bumpy. Based upon what I've seen in other posts, she might have scale mites. I prefer holistic and organic cures. I recently read that a concoction of garlic and olive oil applied to the feet and legs might help. Does anyone have thoughts or recommendations? Thanks!

2. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

What I have done is dip the legs/feet every day in a cup of mineral oil (veg oil would work too) to smother the mites - daily for two weeks.

Towards the end of the two weeks I was doing it every other day. The scales started laying back down afterwards.

I have read to also grease the combs/wattles as those scaly leg mites also attack the face sometimes.

I would also as a precaution do the permethrin poultry dust- dusting routine on the chickens...throw out bedding and spray the coop with permethrin. Then retreat in 7 days or so.

Here is a very good picture of the lifted scales of scaly leg mite:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/33903/scaly-leg-mites-need-best-easiest-quickest-solution-scaley
    click the image in the first post

Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  3. centrarchid

centrarchid Chicken Obsessed

Sep 19, 2009
    Holts Summit, Missouri