Scared chickens

TinyRaptorMom

In the Brooder
May 9, 2021
I know this has probably been asked in the past but I'm new to backyard chickens and my husband thinks I've lost my mind. So we have four 7 week old chickens. I have been slowly getting them use to their coop and chicken run for about two weeks now. Tonight I was going to have them have their first over night sleep in the coop. Thay wouldn't stop chirping and yelling so I went over to them to comfort them and as soon as I open the door they ran to me so I could hold them. I brought them back in the house because it broke my heart (husband thinks I've lost my mind, lol). What's the best way to ease them into their coop for night time. They love it during the day but as soon as it turns night they start to freak out. Thanks in advance.

Chickens have a place where they want to sleep and don’t like it when it changes. It can take them a few nights to get used to this, maybe if you try putting them in their coop after the sunsets and they’ve gone to sleep for a few nights before trying for the whole night. Another thing it might be is that they see you as their ‘mum’ and if a mother were to hatch them she’d take them to a new place and they’d sleep with her. Maybe you abandoning them at night makes them feel unsafe because your not their and they can’t hear or smell you. That’s just a theory. Normally by their age they start doing things a lot more independently and away from their mothers. If you want you can check them a few times just to let them know your still their and it’s safe, but not letting them out.

Last edited: