1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Serama juveniles dying, help!!!! Please.

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lilchik, Jul 12, 2013.

1. lilchik

lilchik Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2009
    Rio, WV
    I am losing my Serama juvinile chicks. I have tried researching diseases but haven't found their symptoms. The first one died 2 weeks ago, then 2 more a few days later, 1 more a few days later, 3 more a few days later. I am new to Serama's, getting my first trio February 2013. The juveniles range 3-4 months old. I did not notice anything out of the normal before the first few died. When I found them their body weight wasn't down much, no signs of injury, feathers in good condition, no drainage from nares or eyes. They were roosters and I thought perhaps the oldest rooster had injured them, but as I said there were no signs of injury. But since then, it has been both roosters and hens, and the body weight of the ones found dead is poor. They become lethargic about 24 hours before dying.

They are in a large coop and run, it is clean & dry. They are eating Dumor Chick Grower, non-medicated, it is fresh and the same feed is being fed to my other chicks in other coops, and none have been sick, lost weight, or died. Their water is fresh, provided in a 5 gallon bucket with chicken nipples, changed frequently, and never empty.

Since they have no respiratory, skin, or other visible symptoms I am thinking it could be worms. I have been raising other breeds of chickens for about 6 years and have never had any disease or worm problems. My cochins had mites once a few years ago, but I quickly treated them and dust the coop and nesting boxes when the bedding is changed and have not had this problem since.

Please help, any suggestions???