Serious, distended intestine

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by kilby, Nov 25, 2013.

1. kilby

kilby Chillin' With My Peeps

Hello,
    I am fairly new to chickendom. going on four years. One of my first hybrid layers has a very distended, swollen, red rectum. I think she was the one with blood in her stool and maybe the watery stool too. I was hoping it was undigested worms when I first saw it. This has been around for months now. Then I noticed her pasty butt.
    Washing it this morning I found it was worse than that and the smell nearyly made me throw up several times.

Anyone here a good source on chicken rearends? She loves to eat still. Feeding her hot water and honey. Some meal worms and organic grain sprouts. I have antibiotic and electrolyte in water but my sick birds never seem to go for that.
    Is she in pain? Probably alot when she defecates. I hope I can get help here.
    Do you think it could be a worm thing? Is there something I am not doing I need to do for my chickens to keep this from happening?
    I am grateful for your help.
    thank you

The local farm institute is something too I will phone for help.
    [​IMG]

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
  3. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Could you post a picture? I think that she may have a prolapsed vent.

4. kilby

Sure looks the same but mine has it alot worse.
    What is the big dark ball at the end that seems part flesh part defecation if it is from the cloaca?
    I sure hope it's not a ball of hard blood. Pics as soon as I can get them up.
    I am thankful for the links. Started her on the yogurt meals. soaked her today with vinegar water, and poured hydrogen peroxide over the swollen back end. Dark parts wont come out yet. I have been pulling out hardened broken cooked egg out of that hole which is really smelly.