Seriously, the most basic of quail questions...

KelleyP83

In the Brooder
6 Years
Feb 5, 2013
West Hattiesburg, MS
I have been researching chickens for 7 months, building and preparing for my brood, but don't yet have any - first going in the incubators Saturday. According to my mother in law, I have officially built a "chicken wonderland" - I thought I should be prepared before getting any live birdies! - and may have spent way too much time/money preparing for my first chicken.

Since I'm so prepared, I started researching my next interest - which I will invariably overthink and spend half a year planning and/or building for - peafowl.

But this topic (quails) totally jumped out at me because - when my chickens are happily scratching in their playground and I have established an indoor peacock second only to Henri (of BYC fame, I have learned) - I would adore a quail.

Largely because poached quail eggs are the only thing I've ever eaten and thought "seriously, I could never get enough of these." Specifically on toast points with green cavier.

So, could I keep some laying quail? How many would I need to keep me stocked in toast-point goodness (aka eggs)? Are quail hard/expensive/complicated to tend?

Just tossing these out here as vague questions. If you pros say "yep, quails are involved to care for" I'll know they probably aren't for us right this very minute (what with chickens and peafowl on our plates, as it were).

Yes! You can keep laying quail. Male's aren't needed unless you want fertile eggs.
It's only a rumor that males help start up egg laying, females can go solo and will lay all year round, except winter, they only lay in winter if given an artificial light to provide extra hours. But it's best to let them rest with egg laying for that three month period.