Setting eggs today? HELP???

daniellenoel

Songster
10 Years
Apr 22, 2009
Vail Colorado
Okay, I am new to this... I am planning on setting 18 eggs this afternoon... we have a Brinsea Octagon Advance.
Incubator is running well. 99.6- 99.7 and 45% humidity.
Eggs have been at room temperature since yesterday. If I put them in this afternoon around 3:00/3:30 pm..
Does today count as day 1?
When would lock down be? If today is March 8th, do I count 19 days from today?
Please help?
Also, tem seems to be staying 99.6 but sometimes is up to 99.7 is this okay?

Any and all help would be appreciated, we are doing this a a 2nd grade class porject....
Thanks

Good questions!

Your temps are fine - they can be as high as 102 w/o issue & short spikes up or down are normal & nothing to worry about.

If you set today @ 3:30 then tomorrow @ 3:30 day 1 can be checked off. So if you count today as 1 then day 19 will be your lock down.

Good Luck!

Great thanks
So would I do lockdown around the same time 3:30 that Saturday 26th?
One more question,
lockdown temp needs to be at what? Does it need to be lowered?
HUmidity needs to be up at 65% or higher?

Thanks so much.

Also, I should not candle until next week right?

Lock down doesn't need to be the same time, but around day 18. A day early or a day late wont really matter.

Temp stays the same for lock down.

Humidity must come way up - 65 to 70% if you can get it.

Once the first egg pips (pokes the first hole) dont open the incubator again until they have all hatched & dried out, or until all that have pipped have hatched & dried out.

Opening the incubator during this critical time causes a sudden drop in humidity that will cause the egg membrane to shrink suddenly & trap the chick inside the shell. We call it shrink wrapping.

If you need to open the bator for some reason (it happens all the time) try to add a quick shot of humidity with a spray bottle of warm water or by adding some steamy water to the tray.

Great thanks so much