sevin dust question

Elly

Chirping
11 Years
Aug 18, 2008
I read past post and havn't been able to find an answer to my question. I'm only a newbie at this so have a question about lice/mites. Should the hens be treated on a regular schedule with this dust or only when the mites/lice are seen.?

When dusting the coop and nest boxs do you just leave it in the shavings/straw?

Can the eggs be eatten after the dust has been put in the boxs?

Could the dust get in the food/water if spread on the ground and the hens scratch the shavings?

Sorry for all the questions and thanks for all the help.

elly:rolleyes:

If you want to treat & prevent infestation- treat them on a regular basis- every 2-4 weeks. If you want to treat when you see mites- do it, and repeat in 2 weeks. If you are the sort that likes prevention, then think about deworming and treating for mites on a regular basis (kind of like putting flea control on the cat monthly to prevent fleas from infesting the cat and house-even if you never see them). If you are the sort that likes to have evidence of a problem before you take action, then wait till you see the bugs.... I try to powder everyone every month, sometimes I miss. I just hate to see gobs of lice (and fleas, ect).

Carbaryl powder and it's cousin pyrethrin powder are topical products, they are also sold with a different label to put on vegetable crops to control insects- wash before eating (the veggies). If there ends up being some powder on an egg shell, it won't penetrate- don't eat the shell & wash your hands. Wear gloves when powdering chickens. Also sold as flea powder for dogs with a different label.

People put/mix the stuff in dirt dust baths for chickens so they can powder themselves as well.
Jess

Did you read this recent post where this was discussed at great length & exhaustively?

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=83208